News : 2013 : August

Kartik Telukuntla, center, receives the Chairman’s Recognition Award from Florida Board of Medicine members Onelia G. Lage, M.D., and Enrique Ginzburg, M.D.

Medical Student Honored as Future Leader

Adding to a burgeoning list of accomplishments, fourth-year medical student Kartik Telukuntla has received the prestigious Chairman’s Recognition Award from the Florida Board of Medicine. Presented August 2 by Chairman Zachariah P. Zachariah, M.D., the award recognizes Telukuntla for embodying the characteristics essential to becoming a leader in the medical profession.

Read more »

Students of the Class of 2017 listen intently as Miller School Dean Pascal J. Goldschmidt, M.D., welcomes them to their first day of class.

Miller School's Class of 2017 Arrives

With the U.S. healthcare system in transition, tomorrow’s physicians will increasingly focus on delivering preventive care, Pascal J. Goldschmidt, M.D., Senior Vice President for Medical Affairs and Dean of the Miller School of Medicine, told the 150 members of the Miller School’s M.D. Class of 2017 at orientation on Monday.

Read more »

Doug Borst listens to AAFP board member Wanda Filer, M.D., M.B.A., at a Family Medicine Interest Group workshop. <em>Photo courtesy of the AAFP</em>

Medical Student Lobbies for Improved Primary Care Access at National Conference

At the American Academy of Family Physicians National Conference, fourth-year Miller School medical student Douglas T. Borst presented a successful resolution for improving patient access and was elected the national student delegate to the AAFP Congress of Delegates.

Read more »