Grand Rounds : Archive, 2003-2013

Dr. Joshua Lenchus

Dr. Lenchus graduated from the University of Florida in 1993 with a Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy. He initially worked as a retail pharmacist before moving to the hospital setting at Wellington Regional Medical Center in West Palm Beach. There he created his own position as a clinical pharmacist, a first for the hospital. In this position, he implemented a number of novel programs including medication dosing adjustments for patients with renal impairment, antimicrobial review, a pharmacokinetics service, discharge counseling, and multi-disciplinary rounding.

In 2000, Dr. Lenchus graduated from Nova Southeastern University’s College of Osteopathic Medicine. He then completed a rotating internship (transitional) year at Broward General Medical Center, in Fort Lauderdale, before pursuing training in internal medicine at Jackson Memorial Hospital in Miami.

After his residency, Dr. Lenchus accepted an appointment as assistant professor of clinical medicine at the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine (UMMSM). He currently works as a hospitalist at Jackson Memorial Hospital. In his short tenure, he has become a respected voice on numerous hospital committees. He serves as chairman of the Jackson Health Systems (JHS) Credentials Committee, Vice President of the JHS medical staff, immediate past chairman of the University of Miami Hospital Pharmacy and Therapeutics Committee, and past chairman of the Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation Committee, among others.

One of Dr. Lenchus’ special areas of interest is patient safety. He created a crisis management simulation course for internal medicine residents and has been involved in the patient safety orientation for interns and residents for a number of years. In 2007, he developed a novel curriculum using simulation-based teaching in the instruction of invasive bedside procedures. The program was piloted for medical residents and is now in its fourth year, transforming the way procedural education is conducted. He has spoken locally, regionally, and nationally regarding this initiative and is starting a national cooperative group. His involvement in these and other resident-based endeavors led to his appointment as associate program director of the internal medicine residency program in early 2007, and associate director of the University of Miami-Jackson Memorial Hospital Center for Patient Safety later that same year.

Outside the hospital, Dr. Lenchus participates in medical associations, most notably the Florida Osteopathic Medical Association (FOMA), Florida Medical Association (FMA), and the Florida Chapter of the American College of Physicians (FLACP). He is involved in legislative advocacy efforts, traveling to Tallahassee and Washington, D.C., annually since 2003 to represent the university, hospital, and medical profession. This commitment led to his being awarded the Key Contact of the Year from the FLACP in 2006. He was appointed to serve on the Practitioner Prescribing Review Panel (PPRP) for Medicaid, under the auspices of the Agency for Healthcare Administration, by the Florida Speaker of the House. Since that time, he was elected chairman of the joint PPRP and Drug Utilization Review Board. He was also appointed as the seventh and final member of the Pharmacist Prescribing Committee of the Florida Boards of Medicine, Osteopathic Medicine, and Pharmacy. He volunteers as a preceptor for pharmacy students from Palm Beach Atlantic University (PBAU) and the University of Florida.

In early 2007, he was honored for his teaching excellence by PBAU with a Preceptor of Distinction award. He was also recognized by the Department of Medicine at UMMSM for excellence in teaching over the last two consecutive years. In 2008, he was deemed an “emerging leader in medicine” by the FMA, and later elected a Fellow of the American College of Physicians. In 2010, he was elected a Fellow of the Society of Hospital Medicine and selected as one of ten inaugural recipients for the UMMSM Faculty Citizenship Award. This award was established to recognize faculty members who exemplify the highest standard of service to the medical school and display good citizenship, integrity, and positive attitudes that inspire those around them to contribute to the school’s collective success.